4/9/12 Training

I enjoyed a great afternoon run today in Lincoln. It was 4.77 miles in 38:59.
My run took me from Haymarket Park to the campus of the University of Nebraska (including around the Devaney Sports Center) and back. With temperatures in the mid-60s, the run felt good. It was difficult to keep a steady pace with a lot of congested traffic, but there was so much going on that the miles flew by.
A detail that caught my attention on today’s run was running above and below trains as they were traveling through Lincoln. I know my good friend Russell would have enjoyed it as well. I never met someone who enjoyed trains as much as Russell. It was as if listening to rhythm of the railroad cars gave him an inner peace. If maybe just for a fleeting moment, I recognized that rhythm as well. It’s funny how sounds can help you recall memories of yesteryear so vividly. It was as if I were transported back to those summer days spent in South Dakota.

Leave a Reply

