4/14/12 Training

With forecasts of rain this weekend, I was fearful that I would not be able to get my weekend mileage in without slopping through some wet weather.  I escaped at least one day of slopping as I was able to get this morning’s run in without a drop of rain.  And with the temperatures in the mid-60s, I didn’t have to worry about worsening my cold.

Today’s run was 8.21 miles in 1:08:04. The run was unusual to say the least.  In my rush to get outside and beat the rain, I threw on some clothes that I typically don’t run in.  I felt a bit goofy since my shorts, even though they are made for running, rival the length of my son’s basketball shorts.  I also threw on a running cap to keep the rain out of my face in case of a downpour.  I’m sure I looked like the most uncoordinated runner on the streets with a mismatch of different clothes.

But the story gets better.  About a quarter of a mile into my run I realized I was still wearing my glasses.  I was in such a rush to get out the door that I forgot to put in my contacts.  It was too late to turn around, so I figured just to go with it.  The glasses weren’t too big a pain, except for occasionally fogging up.

Trying to process how goofy the morning run was going, I decided to try to spin it in a positive light.  Sometimes we become so accustomed to practicing or doing things in a certain way, that if the slightest thing changes we find ourselves off kilter and not sure how to react.  By switching things up this morning, I proved to myself that even if I forgot my contacts for my next race, I could still run just fine.  Or if I didn’t have my favorite pair of shorts or lucky socks or whatever the flavor of the day happens to be.  By occasionally switching things up, you can prepare yourself mentally for those unknowns that may come up during a race.  Having experience to draw upon from training will hopefully give  you the confidence needed to overcome any last-minute challenges a race may throw at you.

One last bit about today’s run.  After recognizing that the run would be unusual anyway, I decided not to rely upon my watch every time I felt the urge to glance at it to check the progress of the run.  I was able to keep from looking at it except at the end of the second mile.  My watch is set to beep at the end of each mile.  It has become habit to glance at the time for the last mile to judge my pace.  When I heard the beep for the second mile, I followed my instinct of looking at the watch, but that was the only time I looked at my watch even though I was often tempted.  This also forced me to map the run in my head and plan out the route on the fly, using what I thought I had run so far.  It worked out well and was actually fun to last eight miles with only one glance at my watch.  I ended the run by thinking I could complete a race even if my watch decided to malfunction.  You never know what challenge the next race might throw at you.

Leave a Reply

