4/16/12 Training

Yesterday’s long run later in the day kept me from running early this morning.  I could tell my body, especially my legs, were not ready for another workout so soon.  This, coupled with the fact that Logan had a track meet this afternoon, meant I had to defer today’s workout until this evening.  It was too dark to run outside safely, so I opted for the treadmill instead.

Today’s run was 5.101 miles in 47:41.  It was a much slower pace that I have been running lately, but I needed a little break.  I struggled with a little dizziness right about mile two, but I was able to regain my focus fairly quickly.  I chalked up the dizziness to not allowing enough time between eating and running, but wanted to get the run in before it was too late.

I mentioned Logan’s meet earlier.  He ran a great race and ended up finishing second with a 1600 meter time of 5:25.  I have been so impressed with his attitude this season.  His focus has been on improving his time at each meet, which he has been successful so far.  This week will be challenging as he has three meets.  Brooke and I will be heading to Springfield after his meet on Friday for her soccer tournament over the weekend.

I also wanted to give a quick update on our attempt at gardening.  We have several plants coming up including cucumbers, tomatoes, kale, lettuce, strawberries, winter onions, and blackberries.  Our strawberry plant even has its first berry (although it’s pretty green yet).

Leave a Reply

