5/1/12 Training

After a relaxing break from running (and enjoying Disney World with Grant), it was nice to get back to running today.  I must admit that I was a bit nervous about how I would feel today, especially if I had lost any cardiovascular conditioning.  In reality, returning to running wasn’t half as bad as I imagined it would be.

This morning I ran 6.252 miles in 51:03 on the treadmill.  I started with a nice pace and eventually picked it up towards the end in hopes to ensure I had not lost too much conditioning during my break.

This evening I was able to add another run of 9.02 miles in 1:11:44.  The run was on my regular route for Tuesday evenings.  I was able to add a few more hills to the run which gave me a sense of accomplishment after completing the run.

Today’s runs put me in good position to reach this week’s goal of 60 miles.  My hope is to increase my mileage five miles each week until I top out with one 75+ mile week before making the transition to my 18 week marathon training schedule.  Today’s runs have encouraged me and I look forward to completing the phase of building my base until I reach my training schedule starting point.

I have two points of exciting news to share with you today.  The first is that I have officially registered for the 2012 Prairie Fire Marathon in Wichita, KS.  I enjoyed the race so much last year that it was difficult to pass up this year.  The race will be on Sunday, October 14, 2012.  Officially making the commitment by registering for a race always helps with motivation as well, it certainly gives you a target to focus on.

My second piece of news is that my first article has been published on Active.com.  You can read the story by following this link:  http://www.active.com/running/Articles/6-Tips-to-Stay-Motivated-With-Your-Training.htm.  I hope you enjoy it and I look forward to working with their staff to publish future articles.

Leave a Reply

