5/13/12 Training

Today’s run was my long run for the week.  It ended up being 19.01 miles in 2:47:49.  With other things going on today, my only choice was to get the run in very early this morning.  Once I got past rolling out of bed before 5:00, I quickly regained that unique feeling of running before dawn.  There is something special about the morning coolness and the birds chirping before the sun greets the day.  After watching one soccer game this morning, I was very happy I finished my run early as the day is heating up quickly.

My run was on both the Greenway and Legacy Loop Trails.  This area of the city contains more hills than the routes I normally run for my long runs, but it was a nice challenge in the middle of the run.  When I qualify for Boston (not if), I have definitely located some good spots for hill repeats to train for the ups and downs of Boston.  Not that I’m getting ahead of myself!

Today’s Mother’s Day and was certainly a focus of my thoughts today.  Renee is visiting Hays with the boys over the weekend, so Brooke and I are missing all of them greatly.  They should be back in time to catch Brooke’s soccer tournament championship game later this afternoon.  Absence certainly does make the heart grow fonder.

Speaking of absence, this is the first Mother’s Day without my mom.  The thought suddenly hit me at Mass last evening and again reminded me how much she meant to me and how much I miss her.  She was certainly a mother that would and did anything she could for her children.  I hope I’m lucky enough (as well as my children) that just a little of that rubbed off on me.  Absence does make the heart grow fonder.

 

Leave a Reply

