5/26/12 Training

It felt good to hit the roads early this morning.  I was pleasantly surprised that I was not too sore from last night’s run, especially considering the short recovery time between the runs.  Not many thoughts on today’s run, I simply focused on reaching 7.75 miles and resting for tomorrow’s long run.

Today’s run was 7.77 miles in 1:07:37.  The time included a chat with a neighbor who was out for a run in his effort to recover from a winter knee injury.  Several times during the run I had to refocus from drifting to thoughts about tomorrow’s run instead of simply focusing on the current run.  It is some of that mental discipline that I have lacked towards the end of my previous marathons, so hopefully I will be better prepared for the next race.

Now that the run is over, I can focus on tomorrow’s run.  I have about 32 miles to hit my goal of 75 miles for the week, so that sounds good for a target to start with, but I’m hoping I will be able to go longer.  My original plan was to start and simply head in one direction until I hit my breaking point, but I haven’t planned well enough to safely accomplish this.  Instead, I will combine several of my routine routes plus a little additional new routes to get my mileage in.  The first 20-25 miles have contain a few water breaks in the neighborhood and beyond that I will have my family help me out.  I also hope to be able to post live updates during the water breaks to keep you posted on my progress.  I’m looking forward to tomorrow’s challenge.

Leave a Reply

