6/25/12 Training

Yesterday’s run was interesting. The early morning hours brought more rain, so I planned to run on the treadmill again but all of the hotel’s treadmills were being used. Noting the rain wasn’t too bad, I opted to run outside. The bands of rain and wind came and went as the third band was starting in full force as I finished. Thinking I would run on the treadmill, I didn’t bring my watch. Based on my earlier run, I estimate I ran a little over 3 miles in about 24 minutes.
A couple of thoughts from the run. The first thought was how quickly a run came bring back specific memories. For example, yesterday’s run brought back vivid memories of a similar rainy run in Hawaii last year. Without actually feeling the sensation of a downpour in a tropical climate, I may have never recalled that run again. However, all of the memories and thoughts quickly came back yesterday.
The second thought revolved around running freely. With no watch or device to measure time and distance, it was just me and the road. There is a certain comfort on knowing your capacity without such devices. Maybe I will get to a point where I can consistently run like this, but for now I need the feedback and reinforcement of such devices.
Our vacation continues to go well despite the rain. It has kept the crowds down at Disney World, so that has been an added benefit. We have a few more days in Orlando before heading off on our cruise.

Leave a Reply

