7/7/12 Training

Saturday’s run was set for a six mile at marathon race pace. After Friday’s run in the heat, I made sure this run was early in the morning. It ended up being 6.01 miles in 42:20, which is 7:02 per mile pace. I was pleased with the time and effort.

With a 3:15 marathon equalling 7:26 per mile pace, this run felt comfortable and I hope to be able to bring this pace down even further as my training progresses. The difference between my current condition and previous training periods is the larger base I built since my last marathon. Not only has this translated in more stamina, the base has also mentally given me the confidence that I can reach my goal. In my prior marathon training sessions, such a run would be almost impossible mentally. I hope that confidence continues through the rest of this training schedule.

Leave a Reply

