7/24/12 Training

Today’s workout on Hal Higdon’s marathon training schedule was hill repeats.  In the past, I have used the hill near Lake Jacomo for these repeats, but I was too tired this morning to beat the heat so I resigned to the treadmill to mimic the workout tonight.

The workout contained five quarter-mile hill repeats with a quarter-mile jog in between each repeat.  I added a quarter-mile warm up and cool down.  The bad part about using the incline feature on the treadmill is that I have no idea how close the incline resembled my normal hill.  Nonetheless, I felt the common burn in my legs on the third through the fifth repeat.  The total workout was 2.75 miles in 23:11.

I also finished Running to Win by Dr. George Sheehan today.  I thought it was appropriate that the last chapter talked about his battle with cancer with the realization that all of our efforts end at some point:  whether it’s running or racing or life itself.   I thought of Mom during many of those last pages.  She left behind a legacy of genuine love and caring.  In the end, I’m not sure we could accomplish a higher achievement ourselves.

Leave a Reply

