8/4/12 Training

Between today’s marathon training run and watching the Olympics, today has been an inspiring day.  The training run was an eight mile run, not scheduled at marathon race pace unlike last Saturday’s run.  Such runs are developed to be easier runs, not really pushing it as you would running at race pace.  This run was encouraging because even though I was not pushing the pace, I still ended the run with an average pace faster than my minimum race pace.  I ran 8.01 miles in 59:07 or 7:23 per mile.  Towards the end of the run, I realized that my runs are starting to breakdown into two categories:  runs feeling at an easy pace right around 7:25-7:30 per mile pace and runs that test my limits between 7:00-7:15 per mile.  Of course, this doesn’t include the long run each week which is intentionally at a slower pace.

Another thought on today’s run happened as I passed over a manhole in the street.  I noticed the writing on the lower half:  Made in USA.  Thinking of the pride associated with the US effort in the Olympics so far, I wondered how many running products are actually made in the USA.  I hope to begin some research soon to post some of my findings.  If anyone is aware of US products I can write about, please let me know.

That thought leads into the next set of thoughts during the run.  I was so impressed with US effort in the 10,000 meter race today.  The runners represented the US extremely well.  I loved the by-product of Mo Farah and Galen Rupp training together.  This reminded me of the importance of teammates and support. I need to get back into the routine of running with others more.  Hopefully I can concentrate on this over the next few weeks.  I cannot forget to mention our local Olympian, Matt Tegenkamp, who finished 19th in today’s race.  Great job, Team USA!

I’m looking forward to the women’s marathon tomorrow, knowing we have a great opportunity to medal again.  My week will finish with a long run of 17 miles tomorrow.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

