8/6/12 Training

I thought this morning’s cool temperature would motivate me to get out and run this morning. But my body still hadn’t recovered from yesterday’s run, plus I needed the extra rest after a poor night’s sleep.
I delayed the run until right after work. With temperatures over 95 still, I opted to stay inside and run on the treadmill. Remembering to keep this an easy recovery run, I kept the pace slow finishing three miles in 26:59. As discussed yesterday, I need to stick to my marathon training plan to avoid what Hal Higdon calls “August injuries”. These are common overtraining injuries runners suffer when they train too hard for fall marathons.
I continue to focus on nutrition as well. Most of that focus has been on eating fresh fruits and vegetables as well as whole grains. Our garden continues to produce tomatoes, cucumbers, and blackberries.

Leave a Reply

