8/16/12 Training

This evening’s run went well.  I was a bit nervous about how my leg would react to today’s tempo run, especially since the route included some hills.  The distance and individual mile splits may not look so great on paper, but with this week’s earlier leg pain and the hills, I was happy with the effort and pace.  I was able to cover 6.11 miles in the 45 minutes today.

As I was getting ready for work today, I was thinking about what I could think about during today’s run and then write about in my blog.  I’ve been wanting to concentrate on one thought or area each week, and was thinking that organization would be a good place to start.  Since I was getting ready to leave the house, the natural thought was how easy things flow when things are in their place.  Whether it’s getting ready for work; preparing for a training run or race; or getting the kids to school or sporting events, it’s always more efficient if you know where everything is (and it’s actually there).  For me, this is a bit of a breakthrough.  And while I was in the midst of this epiphany, I suddenly realized I didn’t have my work ID.  Checking all of the usual places it should have been, I started to become frustrated when I kept coming up empty.  It was at that point that I realized it was already hanging around my neck.  Sometimes I get too caught up in the thought and overlook the obvious.  And after all that, I didn’t have a single thought about organization on tonight’s run.  Nice.

 

Leave a Reply

