8/19/12 Training

I was able to sandwich my 19 mile run today between my daughter’s soccer tournament games today.  I think I’ve had my fill of time in the sun for a while, as I was outside for the better part of the day – from 9:00 to 5:00 this evening.  I’m looking forward to relaxing for the rest of the night.

I finished the run in 2:32:56 which equates to 8:03/mile pace.  Maybe a little faster than needed, but next week’s 20 miler will focus on keeping a better pace, especially at the beginning.  I was too excited about yesterday’s run which translated to some early miles that were too fast and I later paid the price as the miles wore on.  Ideally, I need to start out a little slower and continue picking up the pace to finish strong.

Interestingly enough, I didn’t have many thoughts during today’s run.  It was a tight fit in between the soccer games, so I think my focus on the pace was driven by ensuring I finished in time before the start of the next game.  After the run I felt completely spent and a bit sick to my stomach.  The soccer game allowed me just to sit still and relax, which helped tremendously.

Here’s the totals for this week:  46.34 miles in just shy of six hours.  One highlight from this week was the finishing of my first Hammer Nutrition two-pound package of Heed.  The second package should get me through the rest of my marathon training.  I also ordered a couple new pairs of shoes:  one pair for training and another for speed work and races.  I should have both by the middle of the week, so this will be something to look forward to in my training (starting Week 11, I’ll take any kind of training excitement I can get).  Next week will be one of my heavier mileage weeks, with the first of three 20 mile training runs next Sunday.  I will have to bear down on training over the next month with only 55 days until the Prairie Fire Wichita Marathon.

2 thoughts on “8/19/12 Training

    • Thanks, Myrle. Hope things are going well for all of you. Good luck with the start of school. I hope to add some European miles to the blog next summer!

Leave a Reply

