8/27/12 Training

Yesterday’s run was an easy recovery run after Sunday’s 20 miles.  I waited until the night to get the run in to allow as much recovery as possible.  Since it was dark, I ran this on the treadmill.  It was 4.1 miles in 34:06 or 8:19/mile.  Not too bad for a run that started extremely slow to work out all of the kinks.

One of the major kinks was my right heel.  It has always been a little tender ever since I became serious about building my base earlier this year.  Luckily, I have a trusted friend and co-worker who was a former runner and gives great advice.  She saved me from further injury several years ago by recommending a change to another type of running shoe.  This time she appears to have saved me from enduring some pretty awful heel pain.  Just like her change of shoes suggestion a few years ago, her advice this time was just as simple.  She showed me a simple heel stretch using a door jamb and moving your hips towards the jamb for a better stretch.  It worked like a charm last night and hope it continues.  This morning was the first morning in a long time that my right heel was not stiff and sore.

 

Leave a Reply

