9/8/12 Training

Yesterday’s workout in my marathon training schedule called for a 10 mile run at marathon race pace.  This was the longest distance I have ever ran in training at race pace.  I was extremely pleased with the effort and the results, although my body complained a bit afterwards.

I covered the 10.01 miles in 1:09:59 or 6:59/mile pace.  The mile splits were pretty consistent, never really off more than 10 seconds faster or slower than 7:00/mile pace.  I tried to carry through with the thought I had earlier this week of viewing the run as very mechanical.  That perspective helps me concentrate on the mile at hand and break the distance into smaller, more achievable goals.

Afterwards, my right heel did tighten up quite a bit.  For the rest of the day it was quite tender to walk on.  I tried to stay off it as much as possible, but between trying to put the basement back together again and the kids’ soccer games, I was probably on it more than I should have been.

Leave a Reply

