9/25/12 Training

My marathon training schedule called for a 45 minute tempo run.  I guess technically I can call it a tempo run since I had a slower pace at the beginning and end with a faster pace in the middle, but I didn’t run as fast as usually during the middle portion.  My right heel felt pretty much like it did yesterday, a little sore at the beginning but better shortly after warming up.

During this tempo run, I was able to cover 5.78 miles (not too far off my pace for the same workout on 8/30/12) or 7:47/mile pace.  I was pleased with the effort while at the same time avoiding straining my Achilles too much.

Only 18 days until the marathon.  I hope I continue progressing at the same rate, and if so, I feel I will be ready to run the race competitively and shoot for my Boston qualifying time of faster than three hours and 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

