9/29/12 Training

Today’s Training Run Summary
Distance:  5.0 miles
Time:  38:57
Pace:  7:47/mile

Even though the weather was beautiful this morning, I decided to run on the treadmill.  My heel felt really good when I woke up this morning, so I think the absence of hills last night helped tremendously.

With my achilles feeling better at the start of the run, it loosened up much quicker than yesterday’s run.  I intentionally ran slower than race pace today, just to ensure I didn’t push too hard.  I did complete the last 1.5 miles at race pace; however.  I tried to focus on how that pace felt, trying to record the muscle memory of what I will need during the marathon.  I hope such perspective will reward me late in the race like a great basketball free throw shooter stepping up to the line and sinking free throws when the game is on the line thanks to muscle memory due to thousands of practice shots.

Tomorrow’s run will be an easy 12 miler.  With only two weeks until the marathon, next week will contain reduced mileage with even fewer miles the following week.  This week has given me the confidence that my marathon goal of 3:15 is still achievable.  Although I have been guarded in my enthusiasm after the injury, I think I can finally start getting excited.

 

Leave a Reply

