10/4/12 Training

Training Run Summary
Distance:  4.0 miles
Time:  28:34
Pace:  7:09/mile

My training schedule called for a four mile run today at marathon race pace.  Even though the weather was beautiful this afternoon (overcast and 50 degrees), I still opted to run on the treadmill.  Most of the reason was due to the success I’ve had recently running on the treadmill, but another part was that my outdoor run would have been near Lake Jacomo which is too hilly for my heel right now.  Another benefit running on the treadmill for a run like this is the ability to keep a consistent pace and run negative splits.

The run went extremely well.  The average pace was faster than my minimum race pace, which left me thrilled after the run.  Much like yesterday, I concentrated on each mile and didn’t worry about what happened the mile before or what may happen in the next mile.  My heel feels great.  I was able to stretch it before the run without any pain.   That has not happened in months.  My mile splits for the run were 7:29, 7:13, 6:58, and 6:56.

The treadmill also allows me to easily listen to music without too much trouble (running outdoors with headphones is usually more trouble than it’s worth for me).  Here’s some of the songs that kept me motivated this evening during the run:  The Fighter (Gym Class Heroes); Moment 4 Life (Nicki Minaj); Lose Yourself (Eminem); and Don’t Wait for Heroes (Dennis DeYoung).

I’m looking forward to my rest day tomorrow.  The weekend contains some miles, but the distances are reduced as part of the taper process.  Next week will contain minimal distances to ensure fresh legs and a well-fueled body on Sunday.  Certainly looking forward to completing the journey . . .

Leave a Reply

